I'm looking
for help...
Aidpage is free!

Free downloads: GrantGate®  Federal Money Retriever®

Discovery and Applied Research

Published on AidPage by IDILOGIC on Jun 24, 2005

Deadlines and process...


Research Grants: February 1, June 1, and October 1. Renewals: March 1, July 1, and November 1. Individual NRSAs: April 5, August 5, and December 5. Institutional NRSA's: January 10, May 10 and September 10. SBIR or STTR: April 1, August 1, and December 1.

Note: When available, this section indicates the deadlines for applications to the funding agency which will be stated in terms of the date(s) or between what dates the application should be received. When not available, applicants should contact the funding agency for deadline information.

Range of Approval/Disapproval Time

Research Grants: From 6 to 9 months. NRSAs: From 6 to 9 months. SBIR/STTR: About 7-1/2 months.

Preapplication Coordination

Not applicable. This program is excluded from coverage under E.O. 12372.

Note: This section indicates whether any prior coordination or approval is required with governmental or nongovernmental units prior to the submission of a formal application to the federal funding agency.


A principal investigator (P.I.) may question the substantive or procedural aspects of the review of his/her application by communicating with the staff of the Institute. A description of the NIH Peer Review Appeal procedures is available on the NIH home page http://grants2.nih.gov/grants/guide/notice-files/not97-232.html.

Note: In some cases, there are no provisions for appeal. Where applicable, this section discusses appeal procedures or allowable rework time for resubmission of applications to be processed by the funding agency. Appeal procedures vary with individual programs and are either listed in this section or applicants are referred to appeal procedures documented in the relevant Code of Federal Regulations (CFR).


Research Grant applications submitted for renewal are reviewed and selected for funding on a competitive basis. NRSA awards may be made for 1 to 5 years. No individual may receive more than 5 years of aggregate NRSA support beyond the predoctoral level, and no individual may receive NRSA support for more than 3 years of support beyond the postdoctoral level. Institutional awards may be renewed.

Note: In some instances, renewal procedures may be the same as for the application procedure, e.g., for projects of a non-continuing nature renewals will be treated as new, competing applications; for projects of an ongoing nature, renewals may be given annually.